setkillo.blogg.se

Install ubuntu from usb chromebook
Install ubuntu from usb chromebook








install ubuntu from usb chromebook

The results from doing it (I nuked my stateful partition by mistake once Here, mmcblk1 and mmcblk0 are very easy to mistype, and you won’t like This is something I did on my Chromebook system directly. Now the only remaining piece is to put an actual kernel on the kernel On the Chrome OS machine and scp:ing it over to my PC. OS with, copy over the contents from /lib/modules and /lib/firmwareįrom your running system into the same location on the SD card Then, since we are going to use the same kernel as we boot Chrome Mount /dev/sdd3 somewhere and extract your rootstock filesystem to it: Then, create a filesystem on the root partition: I wanted two kernel partitions to make it easier to tinker with the kernel and have a fallback to a known-good kernel in case the one being tested fails. This creates three partitions two kernel ones and one for the root filesystem. Then edit it with gdisk (apt-get install gdisk), since the syntax is close to what I am used with regular cfdisk:

install ubuntu from usb chromebook

First, I created the blank partition table in parted: I’m lazy and mixed tools here to make it easy for myself. Get an SD card, insert it in a reader on your Ubuntu PC (mine was a 16GBĬard that ended up at /dev/sdd on the PC, so the below reflects that):įirst, the SD card needs a GPT partition table.

install ubuntu from usb chromebook

I also already had a tarball of an Ubuntu filesystem, created with the “rootstock” tool.

#INSTALL UBUNTU FROM USB CHROMEBOOK HOW TO#

The system was already in devmode when I started (see  for info on how to achieve that). I got Ubuntu installed on my ARM Chromebook tonight. If you’re unsure of what you’re doing, you’re better off waiting until someone refines the instructions and makes them more user friendly. A word of caution: be careful, there are some ways in which you can mess up your system below, in particular the steps that partitions and writes data to the SD card.










Install ubuntu from usb chromebook